letters from nairobi


Strombolizone/Calboni
April 16, 2012, 13:56
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

I am well aware that the last thing the blogosphere needs is another food blog – and it’s not my intention to turn into one of those people who poorly photographs every morsel they ingest and displays it publicly.

That being said, THIS MAY HAVE BEEN THE BEST DISH I HAVE EVER MADE. It is a stromboli/calzone – the only difference being the shape of the dough, apparently – filled with ricotta, caramelized onions, mushrooms, and spinach, and topped with marinara sauce:

I think my ability to produce food that is not only edible, but tasty, comes as a constant surprise to me. I grew up completely uninterested in cooking or baking in a house where my father, a consistently impressive cook, could whip together a delicious, balanced meal seemingly without any effort – not to mention without a recipe. I always assumed that the natural-cooking-ability gene skipped a generation, leaving me no choice but to rely on take-out for the rest of my natural life.  And, honestly, I was okay with that. We all have our strengths and weaknesses – and I can ride a unicycle, after all.

But, as it turns out, I really love cooking. And baking bread. And especially preparing a meal for other people. I realize that this may qualify me as domestic, and/or geriatric, but that’s okay.

And I can still ride a unicycle.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

oh this looks & sounds so delicious, I make similar with just using frozen puff pastry for an easy & fun Sunday night meal. What type of dough did you use here, is it yeast based? It looks nicely glazed.It’s a great way to use up bits & pieces of leftovers as well.

Comment by Killer Kleaners

thanks! i used this pizza dough recipe, because making the dough is actually my favorite part of the preparation: http://annies-eats.com/2008/08/15/perfect-pizza-crust/. it worked fairly well, but i had to add a bit extra flour because the dough was too sticky. half of that recipe was enough to produce that giant loaf, 2/3 of which i froze for later!

Comment by Hannah Rubenstein

You can’t say you made the best dish and not share how you made it!

Comment by Kelsey




Leave a Reply

